About EEIT

The Association of Greek Art Historians (EEIT) was founded in 2001, as a nonprofit membership organization, on the initiative of Nicos Hatjinikolaou, professor of art history in the Department of History and Archaeology of the University of Crete. It followed the First Conference of Art History in Greece in October 2000, organized by Nicos Hatjinikolaou, Evgenios D. Matthiopoulos and Nikos Daskalothanassis, all of whom were teaching at the aforementioned University.

Since then almost all active art historians in Greece have joined the association, which currently includes more than 150 members. Amongst them are academicians; professors and emeriti professors of art history at Greek universities; directors and curators of public and private museums; art historians employed in the public and private sector; independent researchers.

Since its inception, the association has endeavored to promote its academic and professional aims, as these are delineated in its constitution. EEIT has organized four National Conferences, which took place in Athens (2005, 2012, 2016) and Thessaloniki (2007), as well as a series of Colloquia and Lectures.

The presidents of the association to this date have been Nicos Hatjinikolaou, emeritus professor at the University of Crete; Niki Loizidi, emerita professor at the Athens School of Fine Arts; and Nikos Daskalothanassis, professor at the Athens School of Fine Arts.

EEIT is a member of the international association Comité International d’ Histoire de l’ Art (CIHA).

EEIT is listed in the Registry of Cultural Institutions at the Greek Ministry of Culture and Sports.